Tags

, , ,

As I briefly mentioned a few days ago on 8-17…last Saturday…I had a heart attack . Luckily it was a fairly minor one and I got to the hospital on time .  I had emergency

Angioplasty and my lower LAD was unblocked and I now have 3 stents   to keep the blood flowing to my heart muscle . My symptoms were waking up early Saturday morning and being unable to breath . I later found out this was because my heart was dying and my lungs were filling with fluid . I could not catch my breath , I violently threw up, and was pouring sweat, and by the time I got to the emergency room ( by car not by ambulance…luckily my mother was there to drive me ) my blood pressure was 229/160 . Not a pretty sight to say the least . Very glad it is over and my cardiologist thinks I will make a full recovery within 2-3 months  .

Now on to the strange things that happened leading up to and shortly after the attack . Many of you may think they are mere coincidences…and they well could be…but I feel that perhaps it was a bit more than just coincidences .

The first unusual thing that happened was about a week before the attack . My chest had been hurting me for a while on and off when I mowed the lawn . I just thought it was muscles and getting older . I was getting ready to mow and my mother didn’t want me to . She wanted  me to hire it done . I have always mowed my lawn  and I am very stubborn . I was about to mow it when and complete stranger came by and my mother happened to be on the front porch . He asked her if she want the lawn mowed and offered her an excellent price for doing it . No one had ever out of the blue asked  about mowing the lawn since I have lived here . She accepted without even asking me and the man did a great job . It is very likely if I had mowed I would have overheated and died right then and there . This event may have saved my life …and it came at the exact time needed .

The second unusual thing is that I have a statue of the Grim Reaper ( Death) riding a black horse . I have had it for over 15 years and it has always stayed in its box . It has always stayed in storage and I have only had it out of the box a few times to look at . For some reason the night before I  had the heart attack I decided to take it out and display it in a bookshelf in my office . When I remembered this at the hospital a chill ran down my spine .

The next two are not as extreme, but still stood out to me . I didn’t eat anything the day I went into the hospital and very little the second day so by the third day I was very hungry . The assistant came in before breakfast the third day  and told me what was on the menu for the day . Lunch was supposed to be a grilled chicken sandwich and dinner was to be lasagna . One of my favorite foods is lasagna but I was scheduled for release early in the day so I knew I would be gone before I had that , but was happy to be getting the grilled chicken for lunch. I wished it would have been a BBQ chicken though…which was what I was really hungry for . Lunch came around and they brought me my plate . I lifted the cover and to my amazement and joy there was a BBQ chicken sandwich .  I was so hungry it was about the best I had ever had in my life . When the assistant came to get my tray I commented to her how good that it was and she said that day was the first time the hospital had ever served that sandwich . I was about floored . That was what I had wanted and that is what was served…for the first time ever .

I was then preparing to be released and was supposed to be released at any moment , but due to an error between the hospital and admitting doctor  I was still there when the lasagna I was looking forward to was served . Halfway through my meal the doctor came and released me , so I finished my lasagna and got to go home afterwards.

I am home and on the mend now and getting back to normal . This heart attack was very unexpected by me . I don’t smoke or drink…I lift weights and exercise 3-4 times a week…and I eat a fairly healthy diet …lots of lean chicken and vegetables . If I had one piece of advice to give I would say if there is anything you want to change about yourself or anything you want to do to make your life happier or better…DO IT NOW !!! . Don’t wait another second . You truly don’t know what tomorrow will bring.  It is just now sinking into me that last Saturday could have been my last day alive . Give it some thought .

Best wishes, Donald

Please Visit And Share My Main Website Which Offers The Expert Guidance You Need To Change Your Life And Make It Better And Easier In Most Every Way.

Share This Post…