Karma or Coincidence : 2 Stories

Source : By Donald Ryles PhD , http://www.drryles.com

Recently I have had 2 very pleasant happenings in my life that have caused me to question them as to are they Karma or mere coincidence . Many who read this will immediately say that they are just random coincidence. Just as many will immediately proclaim that they are in a sense Karmic. I myself believe that they are Karma.

The first story deals with a group of feral cats that I take care of and the second story deals with a recent tornado that happened in a city not far from mine.

_________________________________________________________

There is a wooded area about a mile from where I live that is home to a group of feral cats. I have taken care of them for about 8 years. The first 5 years I had the help of a few others, but for the past 3 years I have been the sole contact and food provider for the group. I have heard that at one time the group numbered into the dozens living back up in the woods . The most I have ever seen is maybe 10 and now what I see on a regular basis is a mother cat and 3 kittens . The mother cat and 3 kittens meet me most everyday at a location where I have set up a small shelter that I built out of storage containers for them to get in in the Winter . I don’t think they ever use it, but when I am home on cold Winter nights it makes me feel good that it is available to them. The mother cat , after having known her all her life (6-7 years), has just now began to let me touch her a little . One of the kittens has as well, but 2 of them as still wild.

My mother has a friend who sends her religious and inspiring e-mails quite often and she recently sent her one that was about “Pennies From Heaven”. It told a story of how someone had been told by their grandfather that when you find a penny it is sent from Heaven and an Angel has placed it to let you know that you are being watched over. I am not sure if the story is based on a real passed down belief or if it is just a story someone has made up, but I did find it interesting and inspiring to think of.

The next day as I went to feed the cats the mother cat walked up to me and as usual she partly hissed and partly meowed. The one kitten came to me cautiously as well as the other 2 watched from further away. As I bent down to put their food on the plate I noticed something lying between the plate and their shelter. It was a shiny penny. It looked as if it had just been gently placed there on the ground. My first thought went to the e-mail I had read the day before and I couldn’t help but think that an Angel had placed it there as if to say “Good work taking care of these cats, I am watching over them as well”.

____________________________________________________________________

 

Recently in my area there was a fairly bad tornado. It caused quite a lot of material damage, but luckily the death toll and injuries were low. The word went out through the media that the people who had lost their homes were in need of clothes, food, and necessities. Having been in a bad tornado many years ago myself I understood exactly what the people were going through. I planned to give a donation of clothes and food, but was in no great hurry since I knew from experience that the people would be in need for many weeks, if not months. The next afternoon it was announced that all the clothes needed had already been donated, but that food, of course, was still needed. The TV news listed locations for local food donation drop off centers and I planned to give the next day as I was going to be out doing errands and taking care of business. As I walked into a local store the next day  there was a man and a women in the front hall standing by a large stack of food and they asked if I would like to donate to the tornado victims. I told them that I definitely would and that I would bring something back out of the store and donate on my way out. It was a location not announced on TV and I had not even known I was going to be at the store. I had just stopped in to get some soft drinks. I got my soft drinks and then picked up several food items to donate and as I left I smiled and placed the items in the stack The store is in a mall like setting so I had parked quite a way from the store. When I had gotten almost to my car the wind blew something up to my foot. I looked down and it was a $20 bill. I couldn’t help but think of it as sort of an instant Karma and fate in some way for my donation. I have always believed that when you give  you receive back.

taterbanner1129

 

 

5 thoughts on “Karma or Coincidence : 2 Stories

  1. Sounds like your kind efforts are being taken note of by the universe, and it’s very touching to hear about it…… You are a very kind person. Keep up the good work. A kind act, means far more than 1,000 good intentions.

  2. Donald,
    I believe strongly in Karma. You definitely are being rewarded in your efforts to trying to make fellow creatures needs being met. May many more good things keep coming your way.
    Healing and blessings,
    White Wolf Woman

  3. Even acknowledging the propensity that humans have for drawing lines between points it does seem as if your compassion is being returned.

  4. My master used to say, “Think before you think, as its waves will spread in the whole universe and will bounce back on you. Also be careful when you speak, as the whole universe is listing you with one ear and be like a flute when you act, allow him (GOD) to play it, otherwise you will be caught in Karma and will have to face the consequences. Remember there is nothing like good or bad act. When YOU do it, it becomes a sin and when you allow HIM (GOD) to do, it becomes virtue (Punya).”

  5. My mother said the same things about pennys. Over the years I have come understand and believe in many signs and wonders.
    Nothing is by coincidence.
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

